Skip to main content

Nominate someone for the Julie S. Byerley Award for Faculty Excellence in Interprofessional Education and Practice! We accept nominations throughout the month of February. Click the link below for details.

IPEP JSB award criteria and instructions


2023 AWARD.

JoAn Stanek, DNP, RN, ANP, CHPN receives Dr. Julie S. Byerley Award for Faculty Excellence in Interprofessional Education and Practice

This University-level award is sponsored by the Office of IPEP and honors faculty who merit recognition for significantly contributing to the advancement of interprofessional education and practice by developing intentional opportunities for students to “learn from, with, and about each other to advance health.” This is named for Dr. Julie S. Byerley, who empowered numerous health professions educators to be innovative and collaborative and set a standard for educational excellence at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. 

As an Anne Belcher Interprofessional Faculty Scholar for Nursing, Dr. Stanek created a partnership with the chaplaincy department at UNC Health to implement interprofessional simulated experiences on ‘crucial conversations” and debrief ways they can work together. She embedded this activity in her Death and Bereavement elective to equip students with the skills needed to communicate effectively and support families at the end of life. 

Associate Provost for Interprofessional Health Initiatives, Meg Zomorodi, described Dr. Stanek’s long history of IPEPand excellence in teaching. Zomorodi says Dr. Stanek is “truly deserving of this award as an early innovator for IPEP.” Dr. Stanek is one of the Office of IPEP’s key partners for traumatic brain injury and the Peak Performance interprofessional pilot. Recognizing a need during the COVID pandemic, Dr. Stanek worked closely with a team of interprofessional colleagues to create an interprofessional telehealth experience and demonstrated her expertise in teaching and innovation as a member of this team. She led the design, implementation, and evaluation components for undergraduate nursing students. Dr. Stanek received the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in undergraduate teaching in 2019 for her educational innovation. She mentors new faculty in the SON who are interested in IPEP and, through this mentorship, has empowered them to further engage in the IPEP network.

Read more here:

Past recipients of the Dr. Julie S. Byerley Award for Faculty Excellence in Interprofessional Education and Practice:

2023: JoAn Stanek, DNP, RN, ANP, CHPN

2022: Kimberly Sanders, PharmD



Awards Received by the UNC Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice

2023 United States Public Health Service (USPHS) and IPEC’s Excellence in Interprofessional Education Collaboration Award

2021 George E. Thibault, MD Nexus Award

UNC Department of Allied Health Sciences in the UNC School of Medicine selected as the recipient for the 2021 Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP) Award for Institutional Excellence and Innovation in Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Health Care


The Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice (OIPEP) supports a campus-wide initiative for the intentional integration of interprofessional learning and collaboration. The purpose of the Office is to design and support creative and meaningful ways to enhance student learning, build faculty scholarship and help departments meet accreditation goals.